Momma

Thank God, she’s in my heart! I know I hurt my daddy’s feelings, when I didn’t want to go to the cemetery to visit her grave. When I served my kiddos in Pecos, I would stop in every day at the cemetery after my school day had ended.

While in Houston, she came to me in a dream and said, “ I’m going into a deeper world, and you will not dream of me again. You must let me go and go on with your life. Remember me in your daily actions, and most importantly in the work with your students and education.” I have never dreamed about her again. However, one night, after a terrible day, I woke up at 3:00 am. I didn’t open my eyes because I was afraid. Then suddenly I felt peace. I know she was there to uplift me.

My momma was my best friend. I thank God that my siblings have stepped up to guide me through my life. Of course, my Curtis has been my rock. May is always difficult because of Mother’s Day and it’s the month to honor our Heavenly Mother. It also happens to be the month she passed. This tiny woman taught me to fight for justice, inequalities, and to educate my students to the fullest. I miss and love you momma. I cry less, but I work harder than I’ve ever worked in my entire life. When I get that Master’s Degree, it is because you and Daddy instilled in me the value of an equitable education!

When I was young, my mother had us pray the rosary as a family. At times, I didn’t want to engage, but if you knew my momma, I didn’t have a choice! I miss you, momma! I am so thankful that you live in my heart!

Leave a comment