Pen to Paper NOT My Farewell@

Terrie's Tantalizing Tidbits
Terrie’s Tantalizing Tidbits

The thick fog lifted and the big day arrived and it’s clear that our tasks are now done. The strength of realities’ wrist flinging back and forth pounding at my car’s door, said to me, “ It can never be ignored.”

I soon discovered that the irritating cadence that was once neglected open up everyone else’s word lane and mine, which was left, unchallenged. Once I became acclimatized to the reality of what I had done, I said to myself, “EXCUSES! MUCUS!!!” “Let’s get her done!”

I think back to that senior year teacher that and raked all of my papers. Embedding that seed into my psyche that I was out of everyone else’s league.

Growing up, I always wanted to be part of the teacher’s clan, but really it was he who silenced my pen. In his view, I didn’t fit the mold of a writer. Now I thank him for his disapproval, as it made me try until I succeeded.

I say now to him, you made me conscious of what to say and NOT say to students of any age. When a student takes a chance to put the pen on the paper allow them to flow. Watch your words; otherwise, it will bring their writing to an end. It can stifle them and put them in a rut from which there may be no return.

Yes, we have to be open to all criticisms, but I have learned how important it is to not stifle a writer that has not yet learned what he or she is capable of.

Thank you fellow Writing Teachers and mentors for pushing me to share. I always learn SO much from you and I am always eager to put into practice the new things I have learned. It has been such a gift to be part of a community of writers that openly share of themselves and their minds.

You’ve allowed me to heal in SO many ways!!! I can now put the pen to the paper and plug away!

2 thoughts on “Pen to Paper NOT My Farewell@

Leave a comment